National Language of India, People asked many times How Many official Languages of India: According to Article 343 of the Constitution of India, the official languages of India shall be Hindi written in Devanagari script and English. The official language of India is Hindi and English.
Language in India
National Language of India
Major 6 Language of India


1. Hindi (Devanagari: हिन्दी)

The Hindi language written in Devanagari script is the official language of the Government of India. The word hind was originally used to refer to the inhabitants of the eastern region of the Indus.

Native speakers: 180 million

Language family: Indo-European languages, Indo-Aryan languages, Indo-Iranian languages

Regulated by: Central Hindi Directorate.

Writing system: Devanagari, Devanagari Braille.

Native to: India, Nepal, South Africa.

 Did you know: Hindi is the most-spoken language in India by total speakers (551,416,518).
2. Bengali (বাংলা)

The Bengali language is an Indo-Aryan language spoken in the Indian subcontinent.

This is the official and most widely spoken the language of Bangladesh and the second most important thing in India's 22 scheduled languages, behind Hindi.

Bengali is the official language of the states of West Bengal and Tripura and is in districts of Barak valley of Assam state.

Native speakers: 250 million.

Spoken by: Bengalis 

Language family: Indo-European languages.

Regulated by: Bangla Academy, Paschimbanga Bangla Academy

Writing system: Bengali alphabet, Bengali Braille

3. Telugu (తెలుగు)
Telugu is a Dravidian language which is native to India. This is the most spoken language after Hindi, English, and Bengali.

Telugu is the primary language of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and city of  Yanam (Puducherry).

Native speakers- 75 million

Spoken by- Telugu people

Language family- Dravidian languages

Writing system- Telugu script, Telugu Braille

Native to-  India

Region: Telangana, Andhra Pradesh.
4. Marathi (मराठी)

The Marathi language is spoken by Marathi people of Maharashtra, it is the official language and co-official language of Maharashtra and Goa states of India.

Native speakers: 73 million

Spoken by: Marathi people

Language family: Indo-European languages.

Regulated by: Maharashtra Sahitya Parishad

Writing system: Devanagari, Modi script, Balbodh, Marathi Braille.

Native to: India

5. Tamil (தமிழ்)

Tamil is a Dravidian language spoken by Tamil people of India and Sri Lanka. It has its official status in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu and Indian Central region Puducherry, it is used as one of the languages of education in Malaysia.

Tamil is the fifth-most-spoken language in India by total speakers (66,742,402).

Native speakers: 70 million

Spoken by: Tamils

Language family: Dravidian languages, Tamil–Kannada languages, Tamil-Malayalam languages, Tamil languages

Writing system: Vatteluttu alphabet, Tamil script, Tamil Braille, Arwi Script

Native to: India, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Mauritius, Réunion

6. Urdu (اُردُو‎)

Urdu is the official national language of Pakistan. In India, it is one of the 22 official languages recognized in the Constitution of India., official status in five states of Jammu and Kashmir, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and Jharkhand, and Delhi(NCT).

Native speakers: 70 million

Language family: Hindustani language.

Regulated by: National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language, National Language Promotion Department

Writing system: Devanagari, Arabic script, Urdu Braille, Bharati Braille

Native to: Pakistan, India

The official language in Pakistan, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Bihar, Telangana
Urdu is the sixth most-spoken language in India by total speakers (59,079,512).

Read more Indian General Knowledge

Thank You for Reading the article Official Languages of India and major Indian Language List. This article is very helpful for IAS, PCS, SSC, & Railways exams. Please Connect with us for the article on General Knowledge.