Indian Islands

islands of india

(A)  Andaman and Nicobar group

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands, located in the Bay of  Bengal, are considered as the continuation of the Arakan Yoma mountain ranges of Myanmar.
  •  There are nearly 203 Islands in the Andaman group whereas the Nicobar group of islands consists of 7 big and 12 small islands.
  • The Ten-Degree channel separated the Andaman group from the Nicobar group, while the Duncan Passage separated Port Blair, the capital of Andaman and is located in southern Andaman. 
  • Middle Andaman is the largest (area-wise) oceanic islands of India.
  • Saddle Peak (737 m) is the highest peak of Andaman and Nicobar and located in North Andaman.
  • Indira Point (Pygmalion point) is the southern-most point of Indian territory (6 ½ degrees North), which is located in Great Nicobar.
  • Barren Islands of the Andaman group is the only active volcano in India. Last time, it erupted on 17th February 2013.

(B) Lakshadweep group

  • It is a coral island located in the Arabian sea.
  • Kavaratti is the capital of Lakshadweep.
  • Through Lakshadweep literally, mean one lakh islands but it is only a group of 25 small islands.
  • In Lakshadweep, most of the islands are horseshoe-shaped and made up of Attols(coral deposits).
  • The islands north of 11 degrees north are known as Amindivi islands while those south of this latitude is called Connanore Islands.
  • Android Islands is the largest Islands of Lakshadweep whereas Minicoy is the second-largest and southernmost island of this group.
  • Minicoy is separated from the rest of the Lakshadweep by Nine Degree Channel whereas the Lakshadweep group separated from the Maldives by Eight-degree channel.
  • Presently, the Lakshadweep Islands are highly affected by Coral bleaching due to Global Warming.

(C) Other Important Islands
Newmoore islands-  it is located in the Bay of  Bengal on the mouth of the Ganga River.
Pumba Islands: It is located in the Gulf of Mannar between India and Sri Lanka.


Thanks for reading this article Islands of India